Day +2

Posted: August 26, 2010 by Kat in Uncategorized

Take my life and let it be, all for you and for your glory…

That line has never touched me more than it did on Monday morning as I heard my sweet precious Creed sing it with Steve Fee.  I’ve replayed that morning over and over in my mind the last two days.  I can’t believe how incredible that whole morning was.  I knew that it would be a special day for all of us, but I honestly had no idea how powerful it would be.  I wish that all of you could have been with us as we watched the stem cells be pushed through Creed’s central line.  All I could think was, this is it!!! This is about to change Creed’s entire life.  All that he’s been through, all the pokes, the test, the x-rays, the fevers, the hospital stays, the UNKNOWN will now all just be memories.  I thought about the day he was born and how he came into this world far to early and just how many challenges he has already faced.  How every time an illness came his way, he fought as hard as he could, even if he only weighed 2lbs.  I’ve seen more miracles in the past five years than I could have ever dreamed.  Being blessed with Creed has changed my life in so many ways.  God has shown his face to me over and over again.  I mentioned once before in one of my post about having a front row seat, on Monday that’s just what I had.  An amazing seat at His feet.  Trusting Him to heal Creed and take away this horrible disease that has made it’s way into his body.  I smiled more that day than the day he was born.  I just keep thinking of how wonderful my God is and how lucky I am to be a part of such an amazing amazing thing.  We still have a long way to go before we know the complete outcome of all this, but I know without a doubt that this story will end just the way God intends for it to.  What a privilege to be placed on this earth and to be given such a precious prize.  Monday will forever be etched in my mind.  The feelings and emotions will never be forgotten.  All of you that were there witnessed something very special and I’m so thankful that you were there with us. 

Creed has continued to do well after his transplant.  His energy and appetite have been effected the most.  His spirit…not so much!!  He continues to smile and laugh as well as make those around him smile and laugh.  Wednesday around 4am he awoke with a fever of 101 and his first mouth sore.  This was to be expected so we were not surprised.  However, he has not complained about either.  Just that he feels a little yucky.  He continues to walk or trike his laps around the nurses station and play basketball in his room.  He and I had movie night tonight complete with popcorn.  We have to count his calories now to make sure he doesn’t lose any weight.  This morning he had dropped slightly, and so we’re gonna see what he does Thursday and Friday before making any changes like a feeding tube.  It sounds like by this weekend he may lose his signature mohawk.  He’s constantly asking when his hair is gonna fall out.  Another challenge he is ready to take on.  He’s continuing to get lots and lots of cards, which he loves and the UPS man knows him by name and room number.  Everyone has been so supportive and we are just blown away with all that is done for him.  The prayer pager is constantly going off and Creed says “PRAYERS” every time he hears it.  Thank you all for loving us like you have, for the sweet notes and mostly for prayers.  Much love to you all!!!

Stephanie

Comments
  1. Courtney Waggoner says:

    Love you Steph!!!! Smiling so big right now. Thanks for starting my day this way!!

  2. Aunt Rach says:

    Ok, so now how am I supposed to pull myself together and actually get ANY work done today after reading this!! 🙂 Halfway kidding, but really. Circumstances like this have the ability to either bring us closer to the Lord, or drive us away and I’m beyond grateful to be a part of a family that Celebrates God’s plan in its entirety and praises Him always! xoxo –Aunt Rach

  3. addie says:

    well said steph…what a beautiful thing to watch! i will never forget it! love you!

  4. Bob jackson says:

    We know you through Mary Ann and will continue to seek God`s greatest blessings for you. Creed is an inspiration for all of us. BJ

  5. Jan McElroy At TOG says:

    You and all are in our prayers and will be on our church list. God is wonderful and with you and creed at all times. Without him we would have nothing and with him we have life, love and peace. His loving arms are wrapped around Creed and family. Love to all. Jan McElroy

  6. Carole says:

    Hi. I do not know you personally but was a patient of Dr. Smith’s many years ago so I feel that I have some connection to you. As I sit and read this blog I am crying but also encouraged. Even during a very trying time you are focused on God and giving Him the glory. I will be praying for Creed. He is strong and can make it through!

Leave a Reply

