Day +65 “No food, no good”

Posted: October 27, 2010 by creedsstory in Uncategorized

Our Wednesday started out with a fever. Not really what we wanted, but we got one anyway. Cultures and Tylenol, a new antibiotic and back to sleep we went. Since then we’ve been fever free!! We won’t know anything from the cultures for at least 24 hours. Even though the day started out a little sticky, we have had a pretty good day overall. Creed is now getting platelets twice a day with the hopes of keeping them at 80,000. This will be quite a challenge considering how fast he loses them. There’s a prayer request for ya! Continuing with the suction via ng tube, and nothing to eat or drink. This morning his doctor came in and said that they would repeat the ultrasound on Monday to see if the hematoma has decreased in size.
Creed’s spirits have actually been really good today. He played with the clowns this morning and has been pretty talkative since. It helps when some of his favorite nurses are here and come love on him.
I decided last night to go home for a bit and pack all of our transplant goodies. If we’re gonna be here a while, we’re definitely going to need something to do. Speaking of something to do…I’m sure you all know what Sunday is. Other than July 4th this is the only holiday we HAVEN’T spent in the hospital. But we’ll be able to make that off the list on Sunday. Creed is excited about “HALLOWEEN IN THE HOSPITAL”, that’s what he’s calling it. His primary nurse Kelly, will be here that night and she is already working on some fun things for him to do. He will most definitely be wearing his transformer costume, Bumblebee for those of you who know who that is. I’m sure it’ll be a lot of fun. Who knows what we’ll end up doing. For now, all is well and we’re both hanging in there. I’m sneaking out and grabbing something to eat when I can. I can’t bear to eat in front of him. Just doesn’t seem fair.

I would like to say to all of you who have left comments, thank you so much. I’m covered in chills as I read them and at times tearful. It’s still so amazing to see and feel the love, support and prayers from you all. Yesterday, Creed’s blog had 733 views. I can’t even comprehend that!! It blows me away. I know that we don’t even know some of you, and I may never be able to personally thank you for what you’ve done. Please know that your name is etched in my heart and I’m forever grateful. God is good, and even though I have no idea where his thoughts and plans will take us, I will go. Knowing that Creed has touched the lives of so many, reassures me that I’m headed in the right direction.

Love you all,
Stephanie

Comments
  1. Andrea Young says:

    Praying for the Creeder–and we can’t wait to see pictures of him as Bumblebee the transformer!!! Tell him Luke Skywalker (Parker) says he is thinking about him and praying for him this week and weekend!!! Love to you two from the Young crew!!!

  2. Laura Smith says:

    Lots of love to you both xoxo

  3. Jenny Owen says:

    Stephanie,

    My bible study combined with a Revival Cottage Prayer meeting last night, and we prayed for Creed. My bible study friends have kept up with Creed and they ask about him each week. We are all praying for him. May God supply the strength each day to meet your baby’s needs. May Creed have a Happy Halloween!

    Much love,
    Jenny Owen, Dublin, Ga.

  4. Joan White says:

    I am Debi’s aunt from Rochester NY and have been following Creed’s story and sharing it with my family. It is unbelievable how much this amazing little guy has gone through and continues to still have many setbacks. I wanted you to know that he is in our thoughts and prayers and we believe there are brighter days ahead for him and your family.

  5. maria says:

    Steph,
    Every day we read the blog and say prayers for Creed, you and Jon. We love you all. Creed is a strong person (comes from good stock) and he will come through this with a smile on his face.

    Just know that you have many who love and care for Creed and PLI.

    maria

  6. Nicole Baring says:

    Stephanie we are so thankful that God placed us both at the Lighthouse this summer. Bryn loves looking at her “Creed” pictures. We have a favorite & every time she looks at it she says “I LOVE Creed’s smile in this picture”. The amazing thing is the photo was from the Hospital vs. the Lighthouse. He’s an amazing little boy with so much courage. We love you guys! Hang in there.

  7. Keri Harrison says:

    Hey guys, I am the wife of Jon’s cousin Shane in Columbus, GA. I met your sweet little family the first year Shane and I were dating over at Nini’s house(Helen Scott) Creed was so precious. I just wanted to let you know I let our church know all about Creed. Prayers are being lifted up for him there. I just recently joined the blog. I cry everytime I read about everything that sweet little child has to go through. I can’t even imagine going through something this serious. Creed is so blessed to have such a loving family there with him and to be surrounded by all these awesome nurses. Well, I’m going to be keeping you all in our prayers. I don’t know if there is anything we can do to help, but please if there is anything, contact us. Lots of love from the Harrisons, Shane, Keri, Madison, & baby Tucker.

  8. Connie McGhee says:

    Praying for Creed and your entire family. I know Dwight & Jean through Emmaus and have kept up with Creed through Jean’s prayer updates. Our ladies Bible study at my home in Dublin has Creed on our prayer list and had a special prayer for him on Tuesday night this week.
    God Bless You!!
    Connie

  9. cindy baker says:

    my thoughts and prayers are with you all.sometimes we dont understand what gods plan is with us but asure there is a reason we go thru these times.creed is a very strong little guy.will be prayn for him daily to get better and overcome his illness.

Leave a Reply

