Good Days…

Posted: January 25, 2011 by creedsstory in Uncategorized

I love to post GOOD DAY updates. It seems like I haven’t had a chance to post as many of these as I’d like lately, but today I can. Yesterday was such a great day!! Creed was taken off the ventilator again and placed on the high flow nasal cannula. He adjusted well and had a great night. The first word’s out of his mouth were, I’m thirsty. That didn’t shock me one bit. He is always ready for something to drink once the tube comes out. In the past he’s been able to drink something pretty soon afterwards, but this time they want him to wait. The doctors (and some “special” nurses) want to make sure he doesn’t aspirate when he starts drinking. Once he can tolerate a lower flow on the cannula speech therapy will come and evaluate him. Waiting is not one of his strong points right now. Every moment he’s awake, he’s asking for coke, cherry coke or water. My heart breaks for him as he continues to ask. He’s having a hard time accepting this and gets upset. It makes for a long day for everyone involved, but mostly just hurts your heart to watch. I’m hoping that by tomorrow or Thursday he’ll be able to drink. Please pray that he continues to handle being off the ventilator well so that they can continue to wean the flow on his cannula. That will get him closer to drinking, and that will get him closer to happy days!!

Physical therapy started back today. Slow of course, but a start. With help, Creed sat up today. He was able to do a few leg bends and kicks and touch his nose and ears. Still very shaky and def has a ways to go, but determination is something he does not lack. He will continue to work with the therapist daily and at some point will transfer over to Scottish Rite for inpatient therapy. Baby steps…a term that is used quite often with us now. It’s something we’re not used to, but very thankful none the less.

Thank you for your continued support and prayers. God continues to answer them and show us his love every day.

Much love,
Creed’s mom

Comments
  1. Peanut Butter says:

    I love “special” nurses 😉

    • Maxine Ashby says:

      Praise God for baby steps. They lead to better days just as well as big ones. Sometimes better because there are no steps back. It reminds me of the children’s game we all played, “Mother May I?”. May God continue to bless this little boy with grace and patience. Love to all of you.

  2. Linda Dixon says:

    Thanking God for these baby steps!! Praying constantly for Creed’s lungs and the healing process. Love you both! Big and Granda

  3. Sue says:

    YEA!!!!! So great to hear the good news. HUGS and prayers are coming your way!

    Sue, Yovany, Alicia, Anthony, Kenzie & Chris
    http://www.Caringbridge.org/visit/MackenzieGonzalez

  4. John Rainbolt says:

    Baby steps equals days of joy. I am elated that he is off the ventilor, getting stronger with each of his own breaths. I await the moment when he can experience his next cherry coke, the appreciative, joyous look in his eyes will warm your heart just knowing what he’s been though, how hard he struggled to get to this point. Please let us know when he get there.
    I have to say Thank you for Creed’s gift to my Grandaughter Taylor. she and Allisyn the whole family got to see him in December. The story was told to me, although Creed was not feeling good he moved over and whispered something into Mommy’s ear, You shook your head. the next day Creed gave her a necklace with a cross attached. As sick as he was , thinking of others.
    Creed’s strenght, intestinal fortitute continues to amaze me. He will ATTACK the physical therapy. I wish the best for Creed and all the children he represents (those fighting childhood diseases) with his heroic battle. God Bless you Creed , your family and friends.

  5. chase cochran says:

    thats great. so cool. tell Creed i love him

  6. Amy Benton says:

    Yay for Creed- he is such a strong little boy & Steph you are such an amazing woman!! I love hearing the good news- but I would be telling a lie if I didn’t point out my favorite part is about coming back to Scottish Rite!! Technically rehab is on the 3rd floor! We’ve missed you both so much!! I know that it might be a little while but I can’t wait till he’s strong enough to come back to SR!

  7. Kim Hedrick says:

    Stephanie, thank you so much for posting on Truman’s website. I immediately clicked on your link and came over here to get caught up. I am so glad to see that Creed is off the ventilator, that is such a great step. Your writings are full of stength and courage, it is written all throughout the updates. We will continue to pray for Creed’s full recovery. Thank you for sharing your story, so we can have the honor of praying for your precious son and your momma’s heart.

    http://www.caringbridge.org/visit/trumanhedrick

    Kim

  8. Terri says:

    So glad to hear good news!! My heart goes out to you all.

  9. danisha dewberry says:

    hello, my name is danisha dewberry and I met your grandma today she came to my work I work at Glover Foods in Americus. She gave me this website so that we can write to you. Just want you to know that me and my family will say a prayer for you each day. I am going to share with my three kids your story. I hope the Good Lord above blesses you and heals you from the sickness that you have. He is in control of everything we just have to put it in his hands. You take care.

    God Bless
    Praying for you
    Stanley, Danisha, Micheal, Racheal and Nathan Dewberry

  10. Kenny Hayes says:

    That’s great news! Know that Creed is being lifted up in prayer in Delaware.

Leave a Reply

