Nearing the end…..really?

Posted: February 27, 2011 by creedsstory in Uncategorized

Another week is winding down and I can hardly believe where we are. I love how the progress Creed is making just continues to grow and grow. I prayed so hard that his surgery on Thursday would not set him back, and I’m sure you’ve all seen from the videos that it didn’t. I didn’t write a lot about his surgery before it happened. It was the same surgery that was mentioned last week. He had a fundo/nissin. The fundo is a procedure done to help with reflux and the nissin is where they put a button in his belly so that I can feed him if I need to right now. His appetite won’t be that great since he hasn’t eaten in months. Having this “button” will let me supplement him with extra calories/proteins. Once he is able to keep his caloric intake up on his own I can take the button out. He had a button from 6 months until he was 2, so this is no big deal. He thinks it’s pretty cool. Along with these two things he also had a new central line placed. His last one was 6 months old and one lumen wasn’t working. (a central line is very similar to a port) This will also come out once he is requiring less lab work and hospitalizations. So I’m hoping that will maybe be sometime this summer. He’s scheduled to have another swallow study Wednesday or Thursday to see if he’s still aspirating. I’m hoping that because he’s stronger now than the last time, he won’t. Once that’s done and assuming he can tolerate food in his tummy, we will be on our way HOME!!!! Yep, home. I can hardly wait!!! That seems crazy just to say, but it’s true. This week will be pretty easy for us, nothing big. Just more physical therapy and the swallow study. I’m hoping to just share lots and lots of pictures and videos. It’s time to post the “praises”!! You’ve all prayed so hard for him and I want so badly for all of you to meet him, but until that can happen, I’m going to let you see all you can from afar. Hopefully these will be as exciting for you as they are for us. Please continue to pray, he still has a ways to go, but he’s getting closer and closer every day.

Much love,
Creed’s mom

Comments
  1. Maxine Ashby says:

    Thanks be to God for all the progress. Continuing to pray daily for Creed. Maxine

  2. judy parks says:

    Give Creed our love. We’re praying daily and will continue. We love all of you!
    Judy and Keith

  3. Ricky and Toni Durham says:

    prayers are continuing for ya’ll+++

  4. Casper says:

    Can’t wait to have him home!!! We’re always with you. John Lisa and Caspie

  5. deena grimsley says:

    I continue to be RE-amazed with every post and picture! Prayers continuing for Creed and all of you! I can hardly wait to meet him!

  6. John Rainbolt says:

    Last Thursday, I woke up at 3:00 am to get ready to go on vacation (catch a 6:00am flight). As usual my first act in the morning is to check on Creed’s progress. In the span of one week, I seen Creed go from having to fight for life, to taking his first steps, then walking like he wanted to go somewhere. He’s first ice chips. Now talk about him going home, getting stronger everyday, solid food in his future. What an amazing picture. You are an amazing, special person Creed. My thoughts and prayers are with you always.

    • sherry Manross says:

      i am profoundly grateful that God is answering our prayers for creed the way He is. we are all blessed by creed’s inCREEDibleness!!!

  7. Paige Dudley says:

    Glad to hear the good news– people in Columbus will continue to pray

  8. Jenny Owen says:

    What a PRAISE REPORT! It blesses my heart to read it. Keep the videos coming. They are SO precious! lOVE YOU, jenny Owen

  9. Karen says:

    I am definately thinking a road trip to Atlanta is a necessity for me and Alan to see that boy-have not seen him since August!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Love yall-Praying all the time-and Praising alot these days!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  10. debbie says:

    This is fantistic news.

  11. Jen says:

    I am so happy to read this news! I am praying you get to enjoy all the comforts of home soon! XOXOX Jen B

  12. David Moncrief says:

    Our prayers are always with you guys and it is truly amazing what week can do.
    God Bless
    David and Linda

  13. Molly Hasty says:

    So Exciting !!!!!! Glory to God !!!!

  14. Krystal Belmont says:

    PRAISE THE LORD! HALLELJAH! GOD IS GOOD ALL THE TIME! So happy to hear that Creed is doing so well and will be going home soon! THANK YOU LORD!

Leave a Reply

