HOME HOME HOME

Posted: March 23, 2011 by creedsstory in Uncategorized

There’s no place like home has a totally new meaning to Creed and me. Over the past 11 days, I’ve had so many different feelings. Being home has never been so exciting, peaceful, relaxing, perfect and weird. All these feelings wrapped around us. I will explain the weird part a little more. For the first 3 or 4 days I just had this “feeling”. I couldn’t really put my finger on it. When people would call and ask how we were doing, I would try to explain how great it was to be home, but then that “feeling” would come up. I still don’t really have a good word for it. It’s just indescribable. Not having anyone coming in and out constantly, or having a doctor come in to discuss something was so great!!! We absolutely loved our nurses and doctors, but being just the two of us…there’s nothing like it. For the first several days we did absolutely NOTHING!!! We just enjoyed each other at HOME!!! Creed settled in and was quickly back to doing his thing. We had 3 clinic appointments and a rehab appointment our first week. All went well. Creed’s numbers were great!! No blood or platelet transfusions!!! Over the weekend he stayed with Jon for the first time. He was so excited to see Scooter…and his daddy too!! Monday we hit clinic again, with good numbers once more. So good in fact, that we don’t have to go back until tomorrow (thursday). This a first for us, we have always had to go 3 times a week in the past. Along with first, Creed went to his friend Graylyn’s house Tuesday and played on her swingset. This is the first time he’s been able to do this since August. It was a perfect day for all of us. Courtney, Graylyn’s mom and I were able to talk and catch up while Graylyn, Creed and Walker played. He tired out faster than normal, but lasted close to an hour. Another highlight from our week was that Ans, our cousin came to stay with us for a few days. Creed adores her and was so excited that she was here. He of course didn’t want her to leave. She also was a great help to me. For the first time in months, seriously months, my house is almost back in order. That in itself is a great feeling. Creed’s had several other visitors this week, which he loves. He wakes up every morning asking who’s coming today. I’m having to remind him that we won’t have a visitor everyday. He’s been able to go to target once or twice and even went with his dad to “that dirty dog” and gave Scooter a bath. On top of all the other pictures that you’ve seen, I’m hoping you can see just how well he’s doing. He’s getting stronger and stronger. We haven’t been able to go to the “gym” (rehab) yet. They don’t have any appointments available for us. I feel like he’s improving a lot on his own. His desire and drive is there and he’ll try until he’s just too tired. His attitude and sense of humor keep me laughing. We are both so excited to be home I don’t think anything could dampen our spirits right now. Hoping that this weekend brings more first for us and that we go into week 3 on the right foot!!!

Much love,
Creed’s mom

Comments
  1. deena grimsley says:

    Stephanie, your post makes me feel…well..happy, lifted up, filled, thankful, all rolled in to one! So happy life is turning around for you and Creed. Praise God!!!!

  2. Beth Winderweedle says:

    This warms my heart! Welcome home Creeder!
    The Maxi-Max misses you!!!!

  3. Andrea Young says:

    Yayyyyyy! This is just THE best post and news EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!

  4. Jeanie Gregory says:

    It is so wonderful to hear all the wonderful blessings that you & Creed are home and recouping so well. It is so nice to see God at work and having all our prayers answered!! We will keep praying & you keep sharing. It touches us all in our souls. And makes us smile now!

  5. Mary says:

    “GOD IS SO AWESOME!” The little children are His! I have been following e-mails from Jeanie for so long and have been praying. Praise Be To The God Of Our Fathers! He is Faithful to who will not waiver. You are an inspiration! Mary Dietz

  6. Kim Hedrick says:

    Stephanie,

    Just to read this good news fills me with hope for many children, not just Creed! Wow! Home finally! that’s just incredible. You and Creed have done it, with God’s help you have done it. Can’t wait to read of all Creed’s progress. I may not update much, but I’m out here reading and praying and celebrating with you!!!!

    Kim Hedrick (Truman’s momma)

  7. Joan White says:

    I was so happy to read this post about Creed being home. It has been such a long struggle for you all but as they say, with God all things are possible. We will continue to pray for him and hope that the brighter days will keep on coming.

  8. Emrie says:

    Just read your post. I love that y’all are home. Hope to see you soon. I pray that you stay healthy.

  9. Marian says:

    I am so happy that Creed is able to enjoy home and that God is answering our
    prayers. I pray that God will continue to strengthen Creed and family. And, I agree, there is no place like home. I heard about Creed thru my daughter Michele and it brought lots of tears. Thanks so much for the updates.
    Blessings to your family, Marian

Leave a Reply

