Thank you God for great daySSSSSSSS

Posted: April 15, 2011 by creedsstory in Uncategorized

Today makes 5 weeks that Creed has been home. He has had nothing but GREAT days since he walked through that door. I can’t believe it!!! I knew this time would eventually get here, but honestly, I was a little unsure just when it would be. I’ve seen good and God throughout this journey, but having Creed home and having him healthy is just about the best thing I’ve ever seen. There’s a lot of fun stories to share, so I’ll do my best to recap and share them all with you.

I’ll start with “the gym” (rehab). We’ve been going 3 times a week now, and his strength and endurance continues to improve. They do several timed activities with him and all of his times have improved tons. Speaking of activities…one of his therapist thought he would really enjoy ice hockey. How they play this at rehab, is with a plastic floor and shaving cream. This is suppose to help him with balance and reflexes. It probably would have, if Creed would have moved from his one NON shaving cream spot. Yeah, he was not a fan. Having shaving cream on his feet did not seem like a good idea. Go figure, my child doesn’t want to get messy. Go try though!!!

Tuesday he went to the ophthalmologist for his annual exam. Ok, you would think that with all he’s gone through this would be the easiest thing by far. Put a dilating drop in his eye and you would think someone cut his arm off. He screamed bloody murder for a good 5 minutes, I had to laugh. He quickly recovered and away we went.

Our weekly trip to clinic was on Monday, good report all around. His platelets were up 20 points all own their own!!! In 4 weeks Creed will have his central line removed as well as his button. That is a BIG deal just incase you don’t know. Not having a central line is crazy for me to even think about. All Creed can think about is SWIMMING!!!!! He can swim once the line is out and it’s warm enough. I was given the choice when I wanted to bring him back, this Monday or next. Wait….2 weeks????? I opted for 1 week. I still need to see his numbers and levels right now. Maybe next time I’ll get a little crazy and go 2 weeks. Well see…

Thursday was a really cool night for both of us…I had the pleasure to go back to Egleston with Cup of Joy and serve dinner to the families on the Aflac floor. It was so weird walking in that hospital without Creed, without a parent badge and without going to clinic. Just me, Addie, Elizabeth and Chick-fil-A. I loved being able to do something for a mom or dad or child, knowing what they were going through. Knowing how tired they were, or how their day went. Means so much more, when you’ve lived it. I loved seeing all Creed’s nurses and being able to tell how great he was doing. If you’re wondering why I didn’t take Creed with me, he was with Amy Hulett and her three kids at her son’s baseball game. Amy’s exact words to me after the game were, “if someone offered me a million dollars or tonight, I would have chosen tonight”. Her son’s team let Creed wear the bat boy jersey as if he were a part of the team. He of course already thought he was. They also pitched balls to him, he hit a home run and ran the bases with the entire team following him. As he ran from third base to home plate the other boys ran in front of him and as Creed crossed home plate they all high fived him. Creed got a autographed baseball with all the players and coaches and has a jersey being made with “increedible” on the back. I can not tell you how happy he was when I picked him up. Those boys and coaches made his day!!!!

We’ve had several visits with Casper this week. One was a surprise at work, the other at home. Our surprise visit at work of course led to a photo shoot. We somehow walked in at the right time and the next thing I know I’m signing a waiver for them to take Creed’s picture with Casper.

Monday and Wednesday Creed’s teacher came and school was in session. On Friday, I took him to his school to meet his classmates face to face for the first time. They were as excited to see him and he was to see them. He wanted to eat lunch with them, but I didn’t want to push our luck. He only stayed for an hour and no one was allowed to touch him. I think his teacher put the fear in them. Hahahaha

This afternoon he ended his day with a tennis lesson. He was taking lessons last summer before he was admitted and loved it. Today was his first day back. I didn’t know if he would be able to make it through the entire lesson, it was an hour and a half. He informed us, tennis players don’t get tired. Point made. It was great to see all his friends run to him when he walked up and talk with him as they played. I feel like I’m forgetting something, we’ve done so much this week. I hope not…I want you all to know the fun that was had around here.

Tonight starts another fun weekend with his dad and the dirt bike. I know they’ll be more stories to follow.

Until then, I’ll run. I need some rest after this crazy week.

Much love,
Creed’s mom

Comments
  1. deena grimsley says:

    This post has brought me to tears, again, but for all the GOOOOOOOD things! How wonderful he has recovered to this point! I am so happy for Creed and all of you who love him!!!!!!!!

  2. sherry Manross says:

    I am so happy for you Creed and you! God is blessing your lives to overflowing!! Those drops do sting, Mom!

  3. julie says:

    SO wonderful to hear! I think about you all of the time and I am so happy you are back into the swing of things!

  4. debbie says:

    This was so awesome to read Stephanie. It was great to hear the baseball story. I now they where really blessed to have an awesome little boy there with them. I would someday love to met your family. Creed has been a person that I. Have looked up to,he has pulled me through my MS problems. THANK YOU FOR THAT INCREEDIBLE

  5. Helen says:

    So awesome to hear Creeds success! God is in control! Thanks for sharing.

  6. Casper says:

    Excuse me but it’s not Casper, 005, that’s Spy Dog! Hugs

  7. Shelley Tondee says:

    Very touching! Creed you are my HERO!! Much love to you both!

Leave a Reply

