Easter and Reflection

Posted: April 26, 2011 by creedsstory in Uncategorized

I didn’t expect this Easter to have the impact on me that it did. I don’t really know what I expected, but this Easter definitely had a lot of meaning to me. A little more than normal. I’ve always loved Easter, selfishly because it meant my birthday was near…but as I’ve gotten older, I’ve realized it isn’t about my birthday, it’s about Christ and “his day”. I love spring and how everything seems so happy. I love that the grass is turning green and the flowers are blooming. The pollen I can do without, but you’ve gotta have it. It’s part of God’s plan. When you think about it, we all have pollen in our lives. Those things that we can do without, but yet we have them. I think we have to have them so that we can see the good, so that we can see just how great God is. This last year has been my pollen. But when I think of all the good that came with it, I can see God all over the place. Luckily he’s not a yellow dust that covers everything. He does, however, cover me. He has covered me with his love and peace more in the last 8 months than I can even begin to tell you. He’s shown me that through pure hell, he is there, in my darkest moments, he is there. He has shown me through the eyes of my child that all you need to do is believe. Believe that he is who he says he is. That he will never leave you. That even though there are dark times and the future is unknown, that he has a plan. You just have to have faith and trust him. Pollen doesn’t seem that bad when you think of it like that. At least not to me. I wasn’t able to go to church yesterday, it was very weird. Creed can’t go out yet in big crowds so I decided I’d just use the day to reflect. I sat and thought about this journey. December 3, 2004, the day this whole journey started. Most of you know, that Creed was not due until February 15, 2005. God had different plans for Creed from the start. I find the fact that he is here at all a miracle. Weighing 2 lbs. and transparent skin, I thought he was the most precious thing ever. That thought has never changed. Creed however, has. He has fought more battles and overcome more obstacles than I would have ever imagined. His life has been anything but easy, but through the entire thing he has shown me that God is faithful and never leaves us. I know for a fact that there are things that he has overcome that just shouldn’t have happened. Why is that? I’ll never know why. What I do know is that God is good and I’ll never doubt that. I witnessed a miracle on February 5, 2011. Everyone in that room with us witnessed a miracle. A chance to see God right in front of their noses. A chance to feel him. This Easter I just sat and thought about how great our God is. How his love is unfailing. How he still is in the business of making miracles. My heart can’t contain it sometimes. The feelings are indescribable.

I can share one feeling, it happened on Good Friday. We were lucky enough to be honored at the Flying Easter Bunny this year. The last time Creed and I were in Americus was December a year ago. We had Christmas at my grandmothers and left there early because Creed was sick. I drove straight to Scottish Rite that night. So coming back to Americus I had lots of feelings. I was a little nervous, the nearest childrens hospital was 3 hours away. I couldn’t believe that it had been 16 months since our last visit. Then I thought about what took place the last 16 months. And then I saw the smile on Creed’s face as we pulled into the Dukes driveway. I teared up as I turned the car in and felt completely overwhelmed with emotions. I have no idea how many people where there, but in my mind it was a couple hundred. I saw team Creed T-shirts and Creed bracelets, a welcome back Creed sign. It was all too much. I withdrew for a while. I needed to process it all. Really??? All of this for us? Unbelievable!!! It wasn’t long and it was time for the bunny to fly over and drop his eggs. I watched Creed from behind as he stood on the fence pointing his finger in the sky and yelling. I knew that even through that blue mask his smile was huge. After a while, I walked up beside him, I had to hear the excitement myself. Pure joy, that’s what I felt at that very moment. God was right there with us, smiling and yelling too. I love it!! 1000’s of eggs were hunted and then the bunny himself made his appearance. On a motorcycle no less, with a special little guest of honor driving. By far the highlight of Creed’s day. It was such a perfect day. It was Good Friday, it was 6 weeks to the day that Creed came home and it was a celebration. I wish that I could have thanked everyone personally for coming. It meant so much to not just me, but my entire family. This day will be one that will not be forgotten.

Much love to all!!!
Creed’s mom

pictures to come…

Comments
  1. Gigi says:

    My Punkin and Creeder,

    God continues to awe me with His great love. I feel that the people of Sumter and surrounding counties have more than stepped up to the plate for God by being His hands and feet. For the past 6 years there has never been a week to go by that several people did not inquire about Creed’s health and assure me that they have been praying for us. Then these last 8 months, we have heard the prayer pager go off many times a day and on many days it was almost a continuous beep of prayers. My heart overflows with God’s goodness. He has blessed us with many people that have stood in the gap for what our little family has had to walk through. I am so glad that God put these people in our lives. I can not believe the support for last Friday. I saw many old friends, many new friends and many people I didn’t even know. But most of all I saw God’s love through the eyes of all the people that participated. I was so touched by Ward Wright’s family and you know what I am talking about. I was so very glad to get the news that Ward’s scan came back clean and that he got to participate this year in the egg hunt. But most of all, I was so very thankful that our Creeder was well and was able to attend this event. I desperately try to walk in God’s goodness but doubts do arise. So many times on the day that a big event was in Creed’s life, it all came crashing down upon us when he would wake usually around 5 am with fever and throwing up and in the hospital he would end up. I claim that all that is behind us now and that God has completely healed him. Last Friday was evident of that healing. I praise our God that He has used our family to touch many others. You are so right, we don’t the plans that God has for us, we simply walk in His faith, trusting that what He does is right and just.

    Looking around to see all the work that went into that weekend was by far amazing. All the people that helped with “Flying Easter Bunny” preparation, the pilot, the motorcycle rider, our family that provided Bar-B-Q, the donations from friends and businesses and especially all the people that showed up to meet Creed and to support this event (no matter who the family being sponsored) was by far one the most memorable days in our lives.

    Watching you was these past 6 years has been an honor and priviledge. I would like to think that I had something to do with it, but I can not take one bit of credit. God put His hands on you even before you were born. He prepared you all the way and I praise Him day and night for the work that He does through you. I have seen you so tired that you almost could not put one foot in front of the other, yet you trudged on to do what God called you to do. You have been faithful day and night and God has blessed me through You. I am not only honored to call you Creed’s Mom, I am honored and blessed to call you my daughter.

    I love you, Mom

  2. deena grimsley says:

    Oh Stephanie, how you continue to inspire me! The depth of your faith is of Bibical proportions! I hope to meet you and Creed in the near future…..I know coming home was wonderful.There’s no place on earth like HOME!!!!!!

  3. Meg, RN @ Eg Picu says:

    Steph-

    I have been thinking about ya’ll so hard lately. I am so so so excited that things are going so well and just know that I am continually sending good thoughts and prayers your way.

    -Meg

  4. sherry manross says:

    i am so happy for you and creed and all of creed’s family.

  5. Cecelia Prator says:

    PTL for His gift of Creed & Stephanie Campbell. He is using you both as mighty witnesses!

  6. jliggin says:

    Stephanie, I hope you don’t mind but I am going to use most of your letter at church tonight. I think that it will touch everyone and let each one know that God is always there for us just as He has been for you and Creed. He has certainly provided many miracles in your life since 2004. We will continue to pray that He keeps on providing those miracles and that precious little boy can get healthy and have a wonderful life. (And you too). God bless you as you are a wonderful witness to His glory.

  7. Taylor says:

    My creed (:
    Creed I love you so much !!! I got your letter in the mail the other day , I loved it . As soon as I saw your name on the outside of the envolope tears filled my eyes and I was very happy and blessed.I miss you so much and I hope to see you very soon ! Creed you have forever changed my life I love you so much . You are a small child of god that has truely changed my whole life . I never knew someone so small could do this to my life . Since I met you my life has been so much better because I can look back and remember your beautiful smile and your soft skin I can remember the glow in your eyes the time I surprised you in the hospital, I can remember the day we had to leave lighthouse [ :/ ] and I gave you a hug and we both cried and you told me you loved me which always brightens my day when I think about it , I can remember the day you gave me my necklace you were so happy and I love it !!
    Creed you truely have inspired me and I love you so much , I hope to see you soon!!!! (: ❤

Leave a Reply

