Mother’s Day

Posted: May 10, 2011 by creedsstory in Uncategorized

Some people dream of being of mother, some chose to be a mother, some fall into the role and others don’t feel fit. My entire life I never had the desire to be a mom. As a little girl, I played with dolls. The whole Cabbage Patch craze started during my childhood, so of course I had to have one….or two…or three. I played more with Barbie and her friends. There were endless days where I played with my friend Amy, if we had one wedding, we had 1000. I never made it passed the wedding part. Meaning, Barbie and Ken didn’t start a family. My Barbie had no desire to be a mommy. I left the Barbie and Cabbage Patch stage just as all little girls and eventually grew up. I’m guessing most, if not all girls at some point name their children in advance. I did have my names, but never put much thought into the whole mommy thing. As I approached marriage, the conversation about having a family was had and the the outcome was the same. Still didn’t have a desire and didn’t feel like I’d be a good mom. After 6 years of marriage God began tugging at my heart. At first I just ignored it, not really knowing what that was. Lets just say he was very persistent. After 10 months of trying, God blessed me with a pregnancy. Most moms carry their sweet ones about 10 months, but Creed had other plans. After only 29 weeks he decided it was time to see the world. I had no idea what that wonderful little boy would do to me, his dad, our family, our friends and now total strangers. The last six years have been anything but easy, for any of us. When I look back on ALL that he’s gone through it humbles me beyond words. God trusted me with his precious, precious child. He trusted that I would be the mother that Creed needed. He knew that there was no one in this entire world that could take care of him the way that I can. Please know that I’m in no way “tooting my own horn”. I’m just blown away that God gave him to me. I’m his mommy. I love saying that!!! I joke a lot and say that I’m just his social planner, his chauffeur, his at home nurse…silly things like that. But at the end of the day, I’m Creed’s mom and I wouldn’t trade one minute of that for anything in this entire world. There are so many things that he has taught me. Things that I would have never seen or known with out him showing me. God gave me the best gift on December 3, 2004. I had no idea at the time, just how special that 2 lb. gift would be. I love how God knew the mom I would and could be. That even thought I had no desire to be a mom, God knew better. I love that I can look back and see Him in everything. From the moment he placed that sweet baby in my belly, he has never left us. Mother’s day this year was the absolute best! Creed loves doing sweet things for me. Lisa and John Kinsel (Casper’s parents) sent me flowers from Creed and Casper. Creed was beyond thrilled and just loved on me all day. His heart is the sweetest thing. I love how he understands now what special days like this means and how he wants to do all he can to make them special. After our big scare on Feb 5, I didn’t know what this Mother’s day would look like. God did, just as he’s known what our lives would look like all along. I’m beyond thankful that he allowed me to have another Mother’s day with Creed. I don’t look at any day the same now…they’re all special, but I am glad that I had the pleasure of spending another Mother’s day with the love of my life.

Ok…
On another note, I wanted to let you all in on some great news!!! We have been going to clinic once every 2 weeks lately. At his last appointment his platelets jumped from 82 to 160…this is HUGE!!!! His little body is doing all it’s suppose to right now. In fact, he’s doing so great that next Tuesday (a week from today) he will have his button and central line REMOVED!!!!! He has had that line since last July. Removing this is saying the end. It’s time to see what will happen. I’ve never been the mom to worry or get nervous about what’s next. I’ve been prepared for the next fever, vomit spell, hospitalization, etc. But honestly, it’s taking me a while to accept this and not be a little fearful. For those of you that are still praying for us, that is a huge prayer request. I don’t want to be fearful of what “may” happen. We went through so much to enjoy life now. I don’t want one second of that robbed from me because of fear. I know that I didn’t have control before, and I don’t now. The difference is, I didn’t know anything but crisis. I was prepared for that. Now, I don’t know what could come at me. I’m just putting all my faith and trust in God. He’s gotten me this far…he’ll carry me the rest of the way. We are however, very excited about swimming this summer and even being able to take a bathe without taping his line. For 8 months we’ve had to be so careful while bathing. Creed said he wants to go underwater in the bathtub once his line comes out. I love how he’s so excited about that. After all he’s gone through, it’s things like that that make him smile. He’s still going to PT/OT 3 times a week and is doing great!!!! He’s back to riding his bike without training wheels. Such a big deal to him. His strength is great as is his energy. It’s so fun to have him back!!!

Thanks for continuing to lift us up in prayer. Please remember him next Tuesday around 8:30am as he goes into surgery to have the button and line removed. It should be a very easy procedure, but let’s just say Creed likes to spice things up from time to time. LOL

I’ll be sure to let you all know how everything turns out!!!

Much love,
Creed’s mom

Comments
  1. deena grimsley says:

    Hi Stephanie and Creed, another wonderful praise post from Creed’s Mom! I set my sights on having the Faith and Strength thru God, as you do! Thanks again for making another day complete and focused on the real things in life! I am so grateful to know you both through this site!

  2. Linda Dixon says:

    Already praying for next Tuesday!!! Big and I send our love to both of you!! Granda

  3. Sandee Wilson says:

    We all know you are a special mother, with a special child. In God’s word he likens his Love for others, as a mother’s Love for her children. You are Blessed indeed! Love to hear the little man is still full of spunk and raring to go. We have continued to keep You, Creed and the family in our prayers. We in Alabama know the meaning and need for prayer. Thank you for keeping us in the loop. We will keep those prayer wheels turning. In Christ – Sandee

    • Jen says:

      I can’t even say how excited I am for you! You’re the best mom and have the best perspective on things, and it doesn’t hurt that Creed has this amazing spirit. I’m always praying for you guys – the best is yet to come!
      xox
      Jen

  4. Jeanie Gregory says:

    God has been so good! He has kept you and will kept you in HIS care. Because in I Peter 5:7 it says, “Casting all your care upon Him, for He cares for you.” God gives us permission to come boldly, to cast our cares on Him. My friend, I encourage you to do that. Come boldly before His throne. Tell Him everything just as you would a good, close friend, and enjoy the release of knowing that He cares and that He can do something about it. Cast your cares on Him. I know you know how to do that because it is evident. So, don’t waste another minute giving in to fear. Let JOY rule and go forth.
    Be Blessed and keep Blessing us with these wonder testimonies about what God has done!!

    I AM PRAYING FOR YOU & CREED 🙂

  5. Charles Adams says:

    Praise the Lord! We are thankful for Creed and your faith. Our prayers shall continue. Peace, Charles Adams, Epworth By The Sea

Leave a Reply

