Fun days and good times…

Posted: June 7, 2011 by creedsstory in Uncategorized

The past two week have been just that!! We’ve had numerous days at the pool, sleep overs with our special buddy and more chinese than I care to mention. We are adjusting more and more to our new life and really starting to enjoy it. I love that it’s summer and not only is Creed feeling great, but the weathers great and he is able to do just about anything he feels like doing. He made his first trip back to the dirt road and made his mark all over the place. I would try and recap just where he went, but honestly I couldn’t keep up. I basically tracked him on facebook by peoples comments. I do know this, he had the time of his life and hasn’t stopped asking when he’s going back since i picked him up. A little over a week ago, Creed went with his daddy to Fripp Island for a week at the beach. Although, the ocean is not his favorite, he did swim like a fish in the pool. Once that button and central line came out, there was no stopping him!!! One the 1st of June we back to clinic for a follow up. I wish there was some way for me to express my excitement for his results other than just typing, but there really isn’t…so just pretend I’m ecstatic right now… his platelets were 208,000!!!!!! In other words NORMAL!!! Yes I said it, NORMAL!! I don’t know if his platelets have ever been NORMAL…EVER!!! Are you getting what I’m saying??? This is such a big deal, I love seeing God show off!!! He just keeps on and I can’t thank him enough. Overall all of Creed’s numbers/levels were on the high end of NORMAL!!! The nurse practitioner asked us why we were even there. Just to show off…Seriously we are blown away with how great Creeder’s doing and know without a doubt why he’s where he is. We are still headed to the “gym” for physical and occupational therapy. He’s come so far, so fast!!! We have been able to cut back the amount of times we have to go. Another great thing!!

Creed has been asked to be the spotlight child for Be the Match 5k in September. This is a 5K fundraiser for Be the Match organization. Be the Match is where you can go to register to be a bone marrow donor. I’ll post more about this a little later. We will have a inCREEDible team for this run/walk and would love for any of you that would like to be a part of our team to join us. I’m sure it will be a blast, so mark your calendars for Sept 14!!!

Tonight, Creed had a once in a lifetime opportunity to go to Tom Glavin’s home along with the South Forsyth baseball team. We spent 2 hours there as Tom pitched to all the boys and then took them each into his indoor batting cage for pitching lessons. Creed of course was talking smack to Tom…hilarious. If he only knew…he will soon enough. We had a blast there and thank the baseball team and the Glavin’s for allowing us to be a part of such a cool experience!!! I have a video that I’ll post.

I love that there are so many fun things to post and share with all of you that continue to follow Creed’s journey. Many of you are still wearing your Creed band and I thank you for that from the bottom of my heart!! This race is not finished yet…we are almost a year into remission, and still have one year to go before the chances of MDS returning decrease, two years is the normal time frame for relapse. I honestly don’t know if I’ll ever be able to take my band off. There’s too much meaning, and too much history wrapped up in that little aqua band. Either way, I just want to thank you for continuing to pray for Creed. For all of you that watched the Chris Tomlin video thanks so much for your sweet words!! I think the video is now on his webpage and you can actually watch it with out having to by it. Of course I think it’s well worth the money…
I guess that’s it…I’m going to try to update a little more often…if I could slow my sidekick down just a little. Hope you all are having a great summer so far.

Much love,
Creed’s mom

Comments
  1. Deena Grimsley says:

    Such a wonderful wonderful wonderful post!! I can not imagine how thrilled you all must be for Creed to have NORMAL beside anything in his charts! I am so happy for Creed and all of you who love him. His recovery ( recoveries) are miracles no one can ever deny! Still looking forward to meeting the little man, though I am sure if he was not actually impressed with TOm Glavine, he won’t give me a second look!! But I will truly know I have been in the presence of a child that God held in His hand and blessed with a purpose beyond anything we can imagine. It will be exciting to see where God leads him throughout his life.

    Stephanie, you will always serve as an inspiration to me in times of trouble..as we know there always will be in this ole world. I thank God for allowing me to be a tiny part of Your, Creed and all of your family’s, life.

    Never thought about God ‘showing off’ but maybe you are exactly right! Creed would be the perfect one to show off EVERYTHING God has done!

  2. Sandee Wilson says:

    Thank you, Thank you for the update. I am just as happy and elated beyond measure to know that he is doing well right along. When you see God’s hand and work come into fruition, it just strengthens your belief and resolve to never give up and never doubt what a Glorious God we serve. Keep everyone posted, we love to know how our precious Creeder is doing!! Sandee in Alabama

  3. Cecelia Prator says:

    Praise God for His faithfulness and continuous love for Creed! I can hear the joy and excitement in your words and am so thankful you and Creed are finally getting to be the family you were meant to be! Enjoy.
    Cecelia

  4. karen says:

    Could not have read a more wonderful email this morning! God is still in the miracle business and your story is proof of that. Love hearing that Creed is just being a little boy. Something that most mothers of little boys just take for granted! You go, Creed! AND Mama, you take some time to relax and enjoy. Life is a precious gift.

  5. Elizabeth says:

    It was great to see you both today! I’m glad to have finally found this page although I wish I would’ve found it sooner! 🙂

  6. sherry manross says:

    oh, creed’s mom! what blessings you have been given! i am praying that God continues to bless you both with creed’s healing. “oh what a miracle!”

  7. Christy Pierce says:

    I love seeing posts like this one! Praise the Lord and the GREAT things He has done!! Thank you for allowing us the privilege to watch God work in your life and Creed’s life in such a miraculous way!! Your faithfulness has been amazing to watch!

  8. Janine says:

    I saw your part about that the numbers were normal&you love seeing God show off
    Isn’t amazing!!My mom was just talking on the phone to our pastors wife the other day&about how God is really moving&No wonder he gives us new bodies in Heaven bcuz we wouldn’t be able to take in all the blessing other ways.

    I saw your guys’s video on youtube of Creed singing glory to god in the hospital with Steve fee,

    How is Creed doing?

Leave a Reply

