April fools…no jokes here!

Posted: April 2, 2012 by creedsstory in Uncategorized

On a day normally none for silliness and pranks, Creed decided he’d like to take a giant step forward by coming off of the ventilator. About 1:00pm he had his breathing tube (or silly straw as he calls it) removed. He’s been breathing great with a little help from a high flow nasal canula all day.

Not sure if you remember from last year, but normally the first thing out of his mouth once he gets the tube out is…”I’m thirsty”. Well, today was no different. And as always…he can’t have anything to drink right away so we play the “it won’t be long game”. I did manage to get him a few licks from a dum dum, and that satisfied him for awhile. I’m not sure how long it will be before he can drink. With this whole belly issue, which is better, but still not completely gone, I don’t know what they’ll do. I’m hoping to learn more about that tomorrow. Right now he’s content with his dum dum’s and I’m grateful. I’ll push a little harder when I feel the need. 🙂

Hoping for more steps in the right direction!!

Much love,
Creed’s mom

Comments
  1. Beronica says:

    Hang in there little man. so nice to hear you are doing better. rooting for you everyday . Prayers are with you and the family. you bring a smile to my face.

  2. I am soooooo Thankful for this major step in Creed’s recovery! Hoping his drinking is soon to follow!What a brave little man………takes after his sweet Mama.

  3. Mary Lee Dennis says:

    I’m pulling for you Creed…every day I talk to God about you, you’re special to Him…
    Very soon I’ll make you some more pillow cases…
    Love to you…
    Mary Lee Dennis

  4. Cinda Neurohr says:

    Creed, you rock!!!! I am so happy and thankful for this good news. Everyday I have been praying for encouragement for you and your family and this is a biggie! I’ll continue to keep on keeping praying. Blessings, Cinda

  5. Mary Weston says:

    Remember you all in prayer.

  6. Gigi says:

    Now that you can talk, the doctors have to answer to you. I can’t wait to be there when you keep asking them about drinking and eating. I love you my big boy.

  7. Melita McGrath says:

    I just want you and Creed to know I’ve never stop praying. I think of him all the time! Never met him
    Personally, but got to know about his case and life by Sabrina Webster and I keep you all part of my prayers. He is amazing and an inspiration! God is part of your life and he loves you Big Boy! Love!!! ❤

  8. creedsgigi77 says:

    Hi Creeder, I will be heading your way in just a few hours. We have to plan your Mommie’s birthday for Sunday but let’s keep it a “Surprise” OK.

  9. creedsgigi77 says:

    Mommie’s birthday is Sunday, can’t wait to have her party Saturday.

Leave a Reply

