Special tribute to Creed

Posted: May 19, 2012 by Kat in Uncategorized

Many of you have met Casper, Creed’s special four legged friend, and his sweet parents, John and Lisa.  Casper is a therapy dog through Canine Assistants and works at CHOA every week.  Casper brings joy to many patients at Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta and Creed fell in love with Casper right away.  The feeling was obviously mutual.  In fact,  we have all felt comfort in Casper’s presence over the last month.

Knowing the special relationship between Creed and Casper, Canine Assistants

 announced that the newest litter of therapy dogs has been named after Creed.

Meet Creed…

Stephanie was able to meet the new puppies today!

Left to right: Mercy, Creed, Faith and Doc

Thank you for all of the continued prayers.  If you would like to let Stephanie know that you are praying, please feel free to leave a comment on the blog.  She enjoys checking the blog and seeing your sweet messages in the comments.  It can be difficult to keep up with the many texts and emails.  If you’d like to send her a note of support, visit her facebook page for her new address.

I’ll post photos of the inCREEDible celebration hosted by Mountain Park Elementary soon!

Here’s a link to the website for Canine Assistants if you want to learn more about this incredible organization! http://www.canineassistants.org/

Comments
  1. Deena Grimsley says:

    Stephanie, my prayers continue for you. I am hoping you are beginning to find your balance so that you can do God’s plan for your life…………….And the “new” Creed is just as cute as his namesake! What a special honor this little pup has received!

  2. Debra Knight says:

    What a precious face! My heart smiles when I think of all the joy Creed will bring to the children of CHOA…..just like his namesake. You continue to be in my prayers.

  3. Pat Settles says:

    I think Creed is delighted to have a puppy named after him. What a great idea to remember – in such a special way – a brave and strong little boy! I am sorry I never met Creed in person, but I feel as if I know him because he has such a wonderful family, and you shared his story so well. Thank you for letting us know how we could pray for him and for his family.

  4. Christy Noll says:

    How awesome that Canine Assistants is remembering Creed and his favorite dog, Casper, in this way. I feel so lucky to have witnessed the special bond between Creed and Casper first hand. Casper gently crawled onto Creed’s bed this winter to help him while the nurses were tending to him. Creed was instantly comforted.

  5. Nicole Deriso says:

    Absolutely precious!

  6. Love these pics! How special! I think of you often, Stephanie. You will continue to be in my prayers.

  7. Amy smith davis says:

    Such a sweet way to honor creed. He would be stoked
    to have a therapy dog named for him.

  8. Sabrina says:

    What a great way to end my night! Smiling ear to ear ❤

  9. Toni and Ricky Durham says:

    great idea+++ You are in our prayers

  10. Ann and Wayne Campbell says:

    What a wonderful tribute to Creed – a namesake that will make hundreds of children happy! Creed’s light shines brightly still

  11. john rainbolt says:

    Praying for Jon, Steph, and all Creed’s family, friends to find the strength to make it through these difficult days. Creed’s celebration gave me an inner peace ( I too have lost a son) even though I never got the priviledge to meet Creed ( my grandchildren met and fell in love with Creed at the Lighthouse). Love, Hope, Faith and memories.

  12. hilda WIggs says:

    These puppies are beautiful just as Creed was and his spirit will go to other children in this puppy.

    what a special tribute to Creed
    love you Hilda

  13. Ken says:

    Awesome-ness…

  14. Ashley Garner says:

    Stephanie-this makes my heart smile! I can’t wait to meet the newest Creed! He probably won’t love Popsicles and warm blankets as much as sweet Creeder but I’m sure he will touch many lives! Praying for your each and every day! I can’t wait to wear my increedible shirt and continue to tell his amazing story!

  15. Erika Jackson says:

    Dear Steph, Friends, & Family,
    Puppies! What an amazing environment that will provide love and support…
    XOXO,
    Dr. Jackson

  16. Cinda Neurohr says:

    What a precious idea!!! a therapy puppy named after Creed 🙂 I know he is so happy about that!!! I used to volunteer with Canine Assistants, it is a wonderful place 🙂

  17. Jen Borkat says:

    I love seeing that smile on your face! It’s wonderful and inspiring that Creed is remembered in so many amazing ways. Thinking of you often, Jen xoxo

  18. Lisa Kinsel says:

    I know Casper is proud to have new pups named after not only his buddy Creed but for the staff that cared for him and the faith and mercy we see here every day. We love you Steph. Lisa, John and Casper

  19. melita mcgrath says:

    I am so glad to see that you are going on with your life, but sure your precious Creed is going to part of your life forever! But in your heart you know he is watching over you. And this little puppy just brings life again to the other several children in need and Creed’s time in this earth and and more! his wish as i know was to help and make people and children feel better. Still think of you a lot even though i had never met you. Keep your beautiful smile on,I know it is not easy, but whoever follow your journey know you are an amazing woman! And God is always there to you.

  20. Julie Joseph says:

    Stephanie, we love seeing the smile on your face. We pray for you and think of Creed often. Sofie planted a rosebush for Creed, it’s grown and bloomed so beautifully and we have a reminder of his sweetness every day.
    God Bless you and your family.

  21. Sally Valdez says:

    We have Creeder’s little bookmark card from his service on the bulletin board at work. I see his sweet picture everyday and find myself singing “Glory to God…..Forever!!!!” in Creeder’s sweet little voice as I leave the office to stick unsuspecting sick children. I hope you are well and know that we all remember and think about Creed all the time. Those puppies are increedibly adorable and such an unbelievable way to honor such a special boy.

    Sally Valdez
    IV Team at Scottish Rite

Leave a Reply

